ZAMBOANGA CITY, April 11, 2022 – The Regional Tripartite Wages and Productivity Board-IX (Board) conducted a Wage Consultation for Minimum Wage Earners in Zamboanga Peninsula on April 4, 2022, in Zamboanga City, to ascertain the pulse of concerned sectors on the issue of wage adjustment in the region.

There were over 180 representatives from the labor, management, and other sectors who participated in the Wage Con.

The activity commenced with the opening remarks of Board Chairperson and DOLE IX Regional Director Atty. Roy L. Buenafe who pointed out that the conduct of Wage Consultation is necessary to gather sectoral views and positions on the looming wage issue.

The Board Secretariat, headed by Board Secretary VI Joel M. Ijirani, presented the wage situationer and briefer on relevant socio-economic indicators. As discussed, the prevailing Wage Order No. RIX-20 has been in effect since July 30, 2018, and is currently undergoing review. For Non-Agricultural Workers, the minimum wage rate per day is P316.00, while for Agricultural Workers, the rate per day is P303.00.

The presentations were followed by a workshop proper in which the participants were grouped according to their sectoral representation, to gather their respective insights and opinions on the wage issue.

Incidentally, on the day of the Wage Consultation, a petition for minimum wage adjustment was filed by the Philippine Integrated Industries Labor Union – Trade Union Congress of the Philippines (PIILU-TUCP) for an additional P210.00 daily minimum wage in ZamPen.

The Board is set to conduct a series of public hearings on minimum wage adjustment in ZamPen to tackle the petition filed and address pressing wage issues.

The Board is headed by Chairperson and DOLE IX Regional Director Atty. Roy L. Buenafe, together with Vice-Chairperson and NEDA IX Regional Director Phlorita A. Ridao, and Vice-Chairperson and DTI IX Regional Director Al-Zamir I. Lipae. The Employers’ Representatives of the Board are Edgar B. Lim and Roberto G. Valerio. The Labor Representative of the Board is Rey Anthony D. Trio. END/Hannah Segovia, RTWPB 9